• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Buried in cloud files? We can help with Spring cleaning!

    Whether you use Dropbox, Drive, G-Suite, OneDrive, Gmail, Slack, Notion, or all of the above, Dokkio will organize your files for you. Try Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) for free today.

  • Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) was #2 on Product Hunt! Check out what people are saying by clicking here.


John Ross Robertson Trophy

Page history last edited by Patrick Adams 12 years, 3 months ago

John Ross Robertson donated a trophy to be awarded to the best cricket team in Canada. The purpose of this page is to list the winners of this competition.

Year   Team Notes
1910   Rosedale Cricket Club As a challenge cup, a holder was required. It was decided, probably by the 3 trustees, to award title to Rosedale as the winners of the City League in 1910. [Source Toronto Globe: 1 April 1911]
1911   Toronto Cricket Club Rules stated that a maximum of three challenges could be made a year. Toronto beat Rosedale by 3 wickets to claim the title [Source TG: 15 July 1911]. They then had to defend it and were only crowned champions for 1911 when they beat Winnipeg CPR in August. [Source TG: 21 August 1911]
1912   Toronto Cricket Club Beat Rosedale by 122 runs [source TG: 7 August 1912] and Winnipeg by 136 runs to retain the Trophy. [Source TG: 4 September 1912]
1913   Winnipeg Wanderers Toronto defeated St Albans CC, but were beaten by Winnipeg Wanderers on 15-6 August. [Source: Manitoba Encyclopeadia & TG: 16 August 1913]
1914   Winnipeg Wanderers Beat Grace Church. [Source TG: 4 July 1914]



  Winnipeg Wanderers Uncontested
1920   Yorkshire Society CC Beat Winnipeg Wanderers[Source TG: 8 September 1921]
1921   Yorkshire Society CC Albion CC beat Westmount to challenge for the Trophy. Yorkshire Society beat Albion CC by 9 wickets to retain the trophy. [Source TG: 9 September 1921]
1922   McGill CC Yorkshire defeated Grace Church and St Edmunds but lost their final defence match to McGill
1923   McGill CC  
1924   McGill CC Toronto beat Albion CC to win the right to challenge McGill, but were defeated by 25 runs at McGill's campus grounds in Montreal. McGill became the first team to sucessfully defend the trophy two years in row.
1925   McGill CC Albion CC beat Toronto to challenge McGill, who then beat Albion CC by 8 wickets, who were forced to follow-on. A fortnight later McGill beat Toronto in an inter-city match played over the Labor Day weekend.
1926   McGill CC  
1927   McGill CC Toronto CC beat Bell Telephone for the right to challenge McGill, who won by an innings and 54 runs.
1928   McGill CC Letter in Toronto Globe states that Bell Telephone CC were not entering a team to challenge for Trophy 1929 due to fiasco in Montreal in 1928.
1929   Toronto CC After beating Yorkshire Society CC, Toronto travelled to Montreal and defeated McGill be an innings and 213 runs.
1930   Toronto CC Successfully defended the Trophy against first Bell Telephone CC and then finally the West Indians CC from Montreal, beating the latter by four wickets.
1931   West Indians CC Beat Toronto CC by seven wickets to take the Trophy back to Montreal.
1932   Toronto CC Beat West Indians by four wickets, to regain the Trophy.
1933   Toronto CC Beat West Indians by an innings and 195 runs, after amassing 473.
1934    Toronto CC   
1935    Toronto CC  Beat McGill CC.
1936    Toronto CC  Beat Rosedale by innings and 58 runs. EF Loney took 7 for 35. 
1937   Toronto CC  
1938   Toronto CC Beat Winnipeg's St George's by innings and 30 runs. Loney took 7 for 26.
1939?-1944   Toronto CC Can find no evidence of Ross Robertson Trophy games during the War.
1945   Toronto CC West Toronto challenged for Trophy.
1946   Toronto CC  
1947   Toronto CC  
1948   Yorkshire Society CC Yorkshire Society CC beat Toronto CC by 70 runs.
1949   Yorkshire Society CC  
1950   Yorkshire Society CC  
1951   East Toronto CC  
1952   East Toronto CC  
1953   Yorkshire Society CC  
1954   Toronto CC ? Reference? http://www.canadiancricket.org/images/glawards.pdf states Yorkshire CC 
1955   Toronto CC Beat Yorkshire Society CC by 144 runs. Alan Percival made 120 not out for Toronto.
1956   Toronto CC  
1957   Toronto CC  
1958   Yorkshire CC  
1959   Adastrians CC, Montreal  
1960   Yorkshire CC  
1961   Yorkshire CC  
1962   West Indian CC, Toronto  
1963   West Indian CC, Toronto  
1964   West Indian CC, Toronto  
1965-67   West Indian CC, Toronto Uncontested
1968   Toronto CC  
1969   Toronto CC  
1970   Toronto CC  
1971   Toronto CC  
1972   Toronto CC  
1973   West Indian CC, Toronto  
1974   West Indian CC, Toronto  
1975   West Indian CC, Toronto  
1976   Toronto Cricket, Skating and Curling Club Beat Vancouver Island. [Source: The Pleasure of the Game p.62] 
1977    West Indian CC, Toronto   
1978   Vancouver CC  
1979   West Indian CC, Toronto  
1980   Toronto CC  
1981   Sportsman's CC, Edmonton  
1982E   Yorkshire CC, Toronto  
1982W   Regina CC  
1983E   Defence CC, Ottawa  
1983W   Antilles CC, Edmonton  
1984E   Commonwealth CC, Toronto  
1984W   Lions CC, Winnipeg  
1985E   Overseas CC, Toronto  
1985W   Incogs CC, Victoria  
1986E   Cambridge CC  
1986W   Cosmos CC, Winnipeg  
1987E   Gracechurch CC, Toronto  
1987W   Brockton Point CC, Vancouver & Cosmos CC, Winnipeg  
1988E   Guelph CC  
1988W   Brockton Point CC, Vancouver  
1989E   Guelph CC  
1989W   Cosmos CC, Winnipeg  
1990E   Guelph CC  
1990W   Lions CC, Winnipeg  
1991E   Vikings CC, Toronto  
1991W   Strathcona CC, Edmonton  
1992E   Vikings CC, Toronto  
1992W   Meralomas CC, Vancouver  
1993E   Verdon-Montreal CC  
1993W   Meralomas CC, Vancouver  
1994E   Kaiteur CC, Kitchener  
1994W   Queen City CC, Regina  
1995E   Cavaliers CC, Toronto  
1995W   Meralomas CC, Vancouver  
1996E   Gracechurch CC, Toronto  
1996W   Gujarat CC, Edmonton  
1997E   Cavaliers CC, Toronto  
1997W   Ismaili CC, Vancouver  
1998E   Kaiteur CC, Kitchener  

Ismaili CC, Vancouver

1999E   Victoria Park CC, Toronto  
1999W   Ismaili CC, Vancouver  
2000E   Victoria Park CC, Toronto No contest
2000W   Victoria Park CC, Edmonton  

According to www.cricinfo.com Toronto Cricket Club won the Trophy 16 times between 1932 and 1947. This means that it was played during the Second World War. The same site says Toronto CC won it thirty times in all. However, the book The Pleasure of the Game states that Toronto Cricket Club went into a period of wakeful hibernation during the Second World War.

In 1982 the Trophy was divided into two competitions: east and west.

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.